Correction Advisory Committee MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, January 8th, 2025 Immediately Following a Public Hearing at 4:00 PM in Room 2C of the LOB and Zoom and YouTube Live

The following committee members were present:

Tadhg Dooley Marisol Garcia Melvin Medina Andrew Giering Ben Howell Kyisha Velazquez Reena Kapoor Daryl McGraw

The following committee members were absent:

John Bowen Scott Semple

I. CONVENE MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 5:52 PM by Co-Chair Tadhg Dooley.

II. REMARKS BY THE CHAIR

Introductory remarks were made by Co-Chair Dooley. He noted that there will be very little done in the public portion of the meeting, and they hoped to come out with a final ranking of the candidates.

III. EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made by Co-Chair Dooley and seconded by Daryl McGraw to move the committee into Executive Session at 5:52 PM.

A motion was made by Melvin Medina and passed on a voice vote to reconvene the committee out of Executive Session. Co-Chair Dooley reconvened the committee out of executive session at 6:00 PM.

Co-Chair Dooley thanked all the candidates and stated that all three finalists will be on the short list sent to the Governor. He hoped that the Governor will give some weight to the committee's decision. The committee decided on the first ranked choice being DeVaughn Ward, the second ranked choice being Kisha Ellis, and the third ranked choice being Dawn Poindexter. Co-Chair Dooley remarked that it was great to see all the passion for this position despite the obstacles discussed tonight. He echoed the sentiments that DeVaughn Ward and others highlighted that unless the office received increased funding, it did not matter who was in the role. He remarked how the budget paled in comparison to ombud positions in other states and similar roles within the state. He believes the size of the budget is a reflection on whether the legislators truly have reform in mind.

IV. VOTING ON FINALISTS

A motion was made by Andrew Giering and seconded by Melvin Medina to send the Governor a ranked list of Correction Ombuds finalists. Chair Dooley asked if there was any discussion; hearing none, the motion passed on a voice vote.

V. ADJOURNMENT

Co-Chair Dooley once again thanked everyone for participating in both the public hearing and the committee meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:03 PM.